the litwits

Lately I’ve been thinking about making a bucket list of all the things I want to do before I’m 30. Just for the fun of it. I do have a few years to go before reaching that age, but judging by how fast the past year raced by (my baby’s almost one ohdeargod), it can never hurt to start early.

One of the things I’ve always wanted to do was join a book club. I love reading; I love talking about books; I love drinking and eating and laughing with friends. So, last month, I emailed a bunch of great gals and started a club. The litwits. I can’t take credit for coming up with the name, but isn’t it great?

Our August book was The Help. We had a kick-off event at my house, where we all brought three books, then drew names until all of the books had been picked up by someone new. It was a great way to get the literary discussion rolling. (Take the word literary with a grain of salt. There were definitely a few chick lit books being exchanged.) We all read the book, discussed on a private Facebook forum, and gathered again for a group movie date to see our book on the big screen. It’s turning into great fun.

Here’s our upcoming book list, if you’re interested in playing along:

September – Whistling in the Dark

October – Left Neglected

November – When God was a Rabbit

December – Sarah’s Key

3 responses

Leave a Reply

