snap happy


Remember that listy-poo I made earlier this month? Let’s add one more thing to that …
9) Learn how to use our Nikon D60 to the best of its ability. I repeat: It’s not a point-and-shoot. It’s not a point-and-shoot. It’s not a point-and-shoot.
As you can imagine, I take plenty of photos of Baby J. They turn out nicely on the automatic setting, but when I see beautiful photos on sites like Katie Bower’s, I feel inspired to break out the how-to manual for our camera and be more creative. It’s sad how quickly I abandoned what I learned in my photojournalism class.
At this point, I don’t have the cash to splurge on a copy of Photoshop of my very own, so for now I’m using the free tools at Picnik to brush up my images.
We’re headed on a road trip this weekend, so step one: bring the manual and start reading.
Do you have any photography tips or tricks to share?
3 responses

  1. Lucky for you, you know and live very close to at least 2 professional photographers that you could ask… one of whom just might be on MAT leave at the same time as you and has a strong penchant for cameras, especially of the Nikon variety.

Leave a Reply

