try it tuesday


Woah! How surprised are you to see a new post? Yeah, me too. Remember when I posted that I would be getting back of the bloggy swing of things in the new year? Well it’s been the new year for 11 whole days now. Shame on me. But I’m back. I promise.
And to prove it … drumrolllll … it’s Try it Tuesday!
This has to be one of my absolute favourite recipes — Bran Muffins! But the thing that makes this recipe unique is that the batter keeps in the fridge for weeks. Make as many as you want at a time and you’ll always have fresh muffins, hot from the oven.
First, a disclaimer. Don’t be alarmed by the mammoth proportions on the ingredients list. Once you’ve tasted these bad boys, you’ll be happy the recipe was so huge.
Best Bran Muffins Ever
3 cups sugar
1 cup oil
4 eggs
1 litre buttermilk
5 cups flour
5 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. salt
4 cups bran flakes
2 cups All Bran
2 cups boiling water
Combine the first seven ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Pour both types of cereal on top of the batter. Don’t mix cereal in just yet. Pour the boiling water over the cereal and let it sit for a few minutes so the cereal gets nice and soft. Then mix it all together.
Bake at 400F for about 20 minutes.
Enjoy with melted butter and a big glass of milk!
2 responses

  1. I printed out this post and baked these this morning! You're right about it being a huge recipe. I had to use my biggest mixing bowl and the batter came to the BRIM — I almost started panicking and cleaning out an empty garbage can, because it looked like NO bowls would fit the massive amounts of batter. The muffins turned out absolutely delicious, though. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

