one more chance

This is going to sound crazy, but hear me out. I know I’ve been back and forth on the bathroom paint issue, but husband and I have vowed to give the not-quite-right bathroom colour one more chance.
Maybe the problem isn’t actually the paint colour, maybe it’s the accents. I’ve always been a yellow lover and always had yellow in my bathroom, but I think that’s what’s got to go.
We registered for a sea grass bathroom set because we loved it, but it’s not being used to its full potential. So, I started by removing things with yellow, and I like it a lot better with just the white, green and mocha colour on the walls.
Then there’s the issue of storage space. If we could come up with a plan that would improve the look and the functionality of this space, then we’re golden. I like these, but they might look weird mounted next to the existing medicine cabinet.
So we set out in search of some sort of shelving unit ā€” either a wall-mounted shelf or a one to sit on the floor, going over the toilet. But those things are pricey! So, we’re still at square one. Most of the shelves we could find were pretty and decorative, but weren’t really big enough to serve any storage purpose.
Suggestions?
3 responses

  1. I think mounting a cabinet over the toilet would look good, and be a good use of the space. If you got one that was bigger than your medicine cabinet, it wouldn’t look weird next to it — especially because the medicine cabinet is usually just a mirror.

  2. Do you have space for wall-mountable individual shelves (like from Ikea)? Some pretty matching baskets in those wouldn’t compete with your medicine cabinet but might be more affordable than a cabinet with closing doors. I guess the question is, are you storing things that need to be easily accessible (like a hairdryer you use each day), or only-when-necessary (like tampons or travel shampoos).

  3. Thanks for the comments, ladies! I love the idea of shelves and baskets, I just haven’t had much luck finding ones deep enough. It’ll most likely be for the only-when-necessary type things, like extra toothpaste, etc. I’m nowhere near an Ikea. Has anyone else seen white shelves around ā€” about two feet wide and about 8 inches deep?

Leave a Reply

